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The most important terms in online marketing

Understanding online marketing is not easy. This is because almost all terms originate from the English language - and often stand for quite complicated relationships. We explain their meaning, because understanding them is crucial in Internet wine marketing.

Page Impressions (PI)

Page impression means page view. A page impression (actually "page impression" would be more correct) is the complete call-up of a website by a user. If you have a wine shop on the Internet and a user visits your shop and views 10 pages in succession, that is 10 page impressions. If 10 different visitors call up one page each, that is also 10 page impressions.

The number of page impressions is a good measure of how intensively a particular website is used by users on the Internet. When interpreting the figure, it is important to know how page impressions are measured. Many providers on the Internet use what is known as log file analysis for measurement. Log file analysis also (partially) measures page impressions that are generated by search engine spiders. This results in significantly higher figures than if only human visitors are counted, as is the case with pixel analysis. At wein.plus we only use the more serious and restrictive pixel analysis.

A synonym for page impression is "page view", "visual contact" or "page view". However, please do not confuse page impression with "clicks" or "hits". PI is often used as a short form.

By the way: Have you ever thought about why picture galleries, quote shows or a quiz are so popular on many Webpages? Or why many long articles are often spread over so many pages? The user has to click through a large number of pages because of this layout. This drives up the number of page impressions, which has a positive effect on image and advertising revenue (but not necessarily on user-friendliness). Such elements are therefore often referred to as page impression boosters.

Pixel analysis / log file analysis

There are two fundamentally different methods of measuring the intensity and type of use of a website:

  • Pixel analysis: Here, a small, invisible image measuring 1×1 pixel is integrated into a website. The access to this pixel is then analysed and used to generate statistics. The big advantage here is that automatic access to a website by spiders or robots does not usually lead to this image being called up. Pixel analysis is used by all professional service providers such as Google Analytics or Etracker, etc
  • Log file analysis: A web server writes every visit to a website to a log file. This log file can then be analysed by special software. However, as all accesses are logged here, automated accesses must first be filtered out at great expense. This is done more or less well (depending on the webmaster's need for validity, among other things). Today, log file analyses are rarely used in the professional sector. In the wine sector, however, there are providers who still prefer to communicate the statistics of log file analyses, simply because they look better.

Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)

Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) includes all activities that serve the goal of making your website appear as high up as possible in the results of a search engine. SEO does not refer to the separate adverts (see SEM), but to the generic search results. These are not for sale, but each search engine uses a comprehensive set of methods (algorithms) that determine the order.

The search engines use two main criteria:

  • How relevant is the searched term represented on the page?
    For example, if a user searches for "wine from Romania", it is crucial whether this (or a similar) term appears in the title of the page, in the URL of the page or in the text and how often.
    All steps in SEO that start here are referred to as internal optimisation, as they only change your own page.
  • How important is the respective page for the searched term on the Internet?
    There are also many criteria that search engines analyse. The most important criterion is how many links from other important pages point to this page. So if a page on the subject of wine and/or Romania that is important from a search engine perspective links to your page, then your own page for the search term "wine from Romania" is also important from the search engine's perspective.
    All steps in SEO that start here are referred to as external optimisation, as they do not take place on the page itself, but on other pages.

There is not enough space here in the glossary to go into specific SEO tips for the wine industry.

Targeting

Targeting is the magic word for effective online advertising. Targeting is about reaching my target group as effectively as possible with as little money as possible. Essentially, targeting makes it possible to only display (and pay for) an advert if it is seen by a user who is relevant to me.

Examples:

  • A winegrower wants to advertise an open day in order to tap into new customer groups. To do this, he analyses his potential target group and realises that visitors who live within a radius of 50 km are the main candidates. In addition, the visitors mainly come from a target group that is open-minded about wine.
    If he now advertises the open day, he will speak to the online advertising provider and ask them to reach these target groups in particular. The big advantage: with relatively little advertising effort (page impressions or number of e-mails etc.), he will reach exactly his target audience, reduce wastage and - in relation to his effort - achieve an optimal result.
  • A wine merchant wants to advertise his product range for the catering trade. He is in a position to send his goods nationwide and therefore sees his target group throughout Germany.
    The ideal targeting here would be to only address caterers based in Germany.

How does targeting work using the example of wein.plus?

  • Email marketing: Wein-Plus has a lot of information about its users in its database. Retailers, restaurateurs, end customers and other user groups are known. In many cases, we also have the address. Advertising emails can now be sent specifically to users who fulfil certain criteria. Place of residence, user group and other data can be analysed for this purpose.
    Precise targeting is important in the interests of the recipient, so they only receive emails that are relevant to them. But also for the advertiser, because they only pay for contacts that are really relevant.
    More information on standalone mail.
  • Search engine marketing: The adverts displayed by search engines such as Google are selected depending on the search term and other information available to the search engine about the user (e.g. previously visited Webpages). This means that these adverts are highly relevant for users. We offer you a very successful service in the context of joint adverts.

Open rate, open rate

With Email marketing the open rate is a good indicator of the success of an e-mail. On request (please specify when placing your order), we can also determine the open rate for your standalone e-mail.
The open rate (theoretically) measures the ratio between the number of emails sent and the number of recipients who have opened (i.e. viewed) them.

Unfortunately, the calculated open rate is always much lower than the actual open rate. This is due to the measurement method and the fact that many email programmes only open images on request. The "MailPrivacy Protection" update announced in autumn 2021 will further increase the discrepancies between the measured and actual open rate.

Nevertheless, in comparison it is a good indicator of the impact of the sender, subject line and preheader. For example, you can compare the effect of a subject line by sending the same email with different subject lines to different recipients and then comparing the open rates of both mailings.

In practice, a measured open rate of 20% for a standalone e-mail is satisfactory, but we have also achieved more than 50%. As described above, the actual number of opens (not measurable) is far higher.

Gross/net click rate

In addition to the open rate, the click rate is also an important indicator. The click rate measures the ratio of clicks on links in the email to the number of recipients. With the gross click rate, every click counts, whereas with the net click rate, a click by a recipient only counts once. The net click rate is often referred to as the "unique click rate".

We can provide you with the gross click rate for your campaign on request (please specify when placing your order).

Theoretically, the net click-through rate can be a maximum of 100%, the gross click-through rate can be higher.
In practice, a gross click rate of 10% is satisfactory for a standalone e-mail. Of course, it should also be noted here that some campaigns (e.g. invitations to events) are not primarily aimed at a click, so that the click rate is almost meaningless for such campaigns.

Effective click rate

The effective click-through rate measures the ratio of clicks to openings. Here, too, there is the difference between gross opens and net opens described above.
The effective click rate can easily be determined from the ratio of the click rate to the open rate. For example, if the open rate is 10% and the click rate is 5%, the effective click rate is 50%.

But beware: the measurement inaccuracy of the click rate must also be taken into account here. The effective net click rate can therefore be more than 100%. The effective gross click rate anyway. Anyone who has understood the two sentences above has also understood the differences between net, gross and effective click rate.

Price per thousand contacts (CPM)

The thousand-contact price is the price of an advertising service for 1 000 visual contacts of an advert. For example, if an advert costs 500 euros and is seen by 5,000 users, then the CPM is: 500/(5,000/1,000 ) = 100 euros.

The CPM serves as an indicator of the cost-benefit ratio of an advertising service for many types of media.

For online advertising, the CPM is the ratio of costs to page impressions. If an online campaign has one million page impressions and costs 50,000 euros, then the CPM is 50 euros.

The CPM is also often used as the basis for calculating online advertising. If you book a campaign for which the CPM is e.g. 15 euros, the price for the advert is calculated as follows: Number of page impressions * CPM / 1,000

Cost per order (CPO)

This value expresses how much advertising expenditure was necessary on average for an order.

For example, for an advertising campaign that costs 5,000 euros and generates 500 orders, the CPO is 10 euros.

Visit / Unique Visit

A visit is a visit to a website by a user. It does not matter how many pages the user views. As long as the user remains on the website, it is always a visit. If the same user visits the website a second time, it is a second visit.

A "unique visit" is the visit of a unique user within a certain period of time. In the example above, the second visit by the same user would result in two visits, but only one unique visit.

The method by which web analysis tools attempt to uniquely recognise a user also varies. The IP address, cookies and other user data play a central role here.

Pre-header

The pre-header is the first text of an email. Email programmes often display not only the sender and subject line of an email, but also the pre-header. The pre-header is therefore an important element when optimising a standalone email.

Nofollow links

Google attaches great importance to not distorting the link relevance of a page with paid links. The so-called nofollow tag is used to identify paid links as such. This has no effect on the function of a link, but for Google it is the indicator that it is a paid link.
In its guidelines, Google expressly stipulates that paid links must be labelled accordingly. We naturally comply with this, for example by labelling the link in the joint advertisement accordingly.

Split test, A/B test for mailings

A split test (also known as an A/B test or A/B split test) helps to optimise campaigns in the long term. To do this, the group of recipients of an email campaign is divided into two halves using a random generator. Each half receives a slightly modified email. This can be a slightly different content, a different subject line or a different variation. It is important that only one parameter is changed at a time, as otherwise the cause-and-effect relationship would no longer be clear.
After sending, the open rate, click rate or other measured values are used to determine which half performed better.
Sensible split tests provide very valuable knowledge for optimising future campaigns.
At wein.plus, we have been using split tests for many years to optimise our own mailings and customer campaigns. We would be happy to help you use this knowledge to optimise your standalone mail or your advertising in the newsletter.

Resolution of image files

The resolution of image files is specified in pixels (pixels). In other words, pixel height x pixel width.

Although many graphics programmes suggest this: A specification in dpi (dots per inch) is not meaningful for online use, as there are no defined length specifications on screens.

But how many pixels are needed? It used to be relatively simple. An image was displayed in a certain pixel size on a website and it had to be provided in this pixel size. For two reasons, this is no longer so simple today:
1. Due to responsive Webpages, which adapt to the end device, the display size of images also changes. So there is no longer a fixed display size.
2. Screens with HDPI resolution are increasingly coming onto the market. This means that an image of the same size is displayed at 1.5 times (hdpi), 2 times (xhdpi), 3 times (xxhdpi) or even 4 times (xxxhdpi) the density. This results in a visibly sharper image.

At wein.plus we also require a relatively high resolution for uploading logos and labels etc.. We want to be able to display your images at least in xhdpi. However, we are also happy to accept even higher resolutions in order to be able to display xxhdpi or xxxhdpi.

Bounce rate or bounce rate

The bounce rate is a measured value for the number of visitors to a webpage or website who only access one page and leave again after accessing this one page without any other measurable interactions. For example, they land on a website via Google, which does not meet their expectations, and continue googling on other pages. It is important to understand that the bounce rate of an individual page does not refer to the number of page impressions on this page, but to the number of entries on this page. A high bounce rate on a page that is not typically the entry page (e.g. shopping basket) is therefore generally completely unproblematic.
The higher the bounce rate, the more questionable. Reasons for high bounce rates can be excessive loading times, lack of adaptation to mobile devices, off-putting design or other reasons.
Of course, there are also many bounces that are completely normal. A good example is the glossary of wein.plus. People google a wine term, land in the glossary, read the information and return satisfied. The bounce rate therefore depends very much on the type of website. For e-commerce shops, the usual bounce rate is between 20% and 40%.
Incidentally, a bounce rate that is too high is also a ranking criterion for Google, meaning that pages with a high bounce rate are listed lower in the search results.

Interested in online marketing for the wine industry?

We have set up a group on Facebook exclusively for business members, where we regularly discuss tips & tricks for online marketing in the wine industry:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/business.mitglieder

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